Skip to main content

Google shares what Unicode 13.1 emoji on Android will look like [Gallery]

Emoji always serves as a great incentive for people to update their phones. Android 11 just introduced 62 characters, but Google already has its designs ready for the new emoji coming with Unicode 13.1.

Given the .x nature of this release, there are only five emoji characters that are completely new, with all categorized as smiles and emotion: 

  • Face in clouds
  • Face exhaling
  • Face with spiral eyes
  • Heart on fire
  • Mending heart

Meanwhile, Unicode 13.1 introduces gender and skin tone variants for the emoji below. They all exist today, but with just the default looks and little customization. There are just over 200 new combinations in total.

  • Beard
  • Kiss: Woman, man
  • Kiss: Man, man
  • Kiss: Woman, woman
  • Couple with heart: Woman, man
  • Couple with heart: Man, man
  • Couple with heart: Woman, woman

The Google variants were released online today but have not made their way to any phones. Given the very recent launch of Android 11 earlier this month, it’s not clear when Unicode 13.1 emoji will arrive. For Google devices, Unicode 12.1 (from May 2019) arrived with the Pixel Feature Drop in March. Today’s new characters could follow a similar launch in the coming months as part of a security patch or the next major release.

More about emoji:

Thanks RKBDI!

FTC: We use income earning auto affiliate links. More.

You’re reading 9to5Google — experts who break news about Google and its surrounding ecosystem, day after day. Be sure to check out our homepage for all the latest news, and follow 9to5Google on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn to stay in the loop. Don’t know where to start? Check out our exclusive stories, reviews, how-tos, and subscribe to our YouTube channel



Avatar for Abner Li Abner Li

Editor-in-chief. Interested in the minutiae of Google and Alphabet. Tips/talk: